Officers and Regents election results announced

The election of Officers and Regents has been completed. Terms become effective at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting at Internal Medicine 2014 in Orlando, Fla. If you have any questions regarding the election, please contact Florence Moore.

2014-2015 Chair-elect, Board of Regents

Tanveer P. Mir, MD, MACP, New York

Dr. Mir
Dr. Mir

Medical school: University of Kashmir, Government Medical College, India, 1981.

Residency: Long Island Jewish Medical Center, New York, 1989.

Certification/recertification: Internal medicine, 1990, 2000, 2010; geriatric medicine, 1992, 2002, 2011; hospice and palliative medicine, 2006, 2009.

ACP Mastership: 2008.

Present position: Director of outpatient palliative care, Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center at NYU Langone.

ACP activities: Board of Regents, 2009-2014; International Council, 2011-present; Awards Committee, 2009-2012 (Chair, 2010-2012); Marketing and Communications Committee, 2009-2010; Ethics, Professionalism and Human Rights Committee, 2010-2011; Clinical Guidelines Committee, 2010-2012; Nominations Committee, 2006-2008; International Subcommittee, 2004-2008; Laureate Award, New York ACP-ASIM, 2002; Credentials Committee, 2000; Interim Governor, Downstate III New York, 1999-2001.

New Regents elected with a term to expire in 2016

Carrie A. Horwitch, MD, FACP, Seattle

Dr. Horwitch
Dr. Horwitch

Medical school: Sackler School of Medicine, Tel Aviv, 1983-1985; University of Arizona School of Medicine, 1985-1987.

Residency: Good Samaritan Medical Center, Phoenix, 1987-1990; Diploma of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, London School of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 1992.

Fellowship: Health Services Research and Development-VA Puget Sound, Seattle, 1996-1998.

Certification/recertification: Internal medicine, 1990, 2000, 2010.

ACP Fellowship: 2004.

Present positions: Key clinical faculty, Virginia Mason Medical Center, and clinical associate professor of medicine and health services, University of Washington.

ACP activities: Executive Committee, Board of Governors Class 2014 representative; Ethics, Professionalism and Human Rights Committee, 2013 (Vice-chair) Clinical Skills Subcommittee, 2008-present (Chair, 2012-present); ACP representative for the Institutes of Medicine/Association of State and Territorial Health Officials primary care/public health collaboration project, 2012-present; High Value Care Task Force, 2011-present; Governor, Washington State Chapter, 2010-present.

Talmadge E. King Jr., MD, MACP, San Francisco

Dr. King
Dr. King

Medical school: Harvard Medical School, Boston, 1974.

Residency: Emory University Affiliated Hospitals, Atlanta, 1975-1977.

Fellowship: University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, pulmonary medicine, 1977-1979.

Certification: Internal medicine, 1977; pulmonary medicine, 1982; 2008-present: meeting Maintenance of Certification requirements

ACP Fellowship: 1986.

ACP Mastership: 2010.

Present positions: Chair, department of medicine, University of California, San Francisco; Julius R. Krevans Distinguished Professorship in Internal Medicine.

ACP activities: ACP/ATS Subspecialty MKSAP: Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Review Course Steering Committee, 1993; MKSAP IX 2-day Course/Part C, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, 1992; MKSAP X: Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Subcommittee.

Wendy S. Levinson, MD, FACP, Toronto

Dr. Levinson
Dr. Levinson

Medical school: McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, 1976.

Residency: McGill University, 1976-1979; Good Samaritan Hospital and Medical Center, Portland, Ore., 1981-1982.

Certification/recertification: Internal medicine, 1982, 2008.

ACP Fellowship: 1989.

Present positions: Sir John & Lady Eaton Professor and Chair of Medicine, University of Toronto; professor of medicine, University of Toronto.

ACP activities: Physican-Patient Communication Subcommittee, 1993-1995; Chair, Scientific Program for Regional ACP Meeting, Eugene, Ore., 1992.

Previously elected Officers and Regents

In addition to the 2014-2015 Chair-elect and new Regents, the President-elect and Incumbent Regents have also been elected. The profiles of these individuals have appeared previously in the November 2013 ACP Internist. They are:

2014-2015 President-elect

Wayne J. Riley, MD, MPH, MBA, MACP, Brentwood, Tenn.

Incumbent Regents

Dennis W. Cope, MD, FACP, Simi Valley, Calif.

Robert H. Lohr, MD, FACP, Rochester, Minn.

Jeffrey G. Wiese, MD, FACP, New Orleans

Susan Thompson Hingle, MD, FACP, Springfield, Ill.